Alert: Durham Tech classes and support services are currently offered online, due to Coronavirus (COVID-19). Effective June 1, the College will expand access to some campus locations for urgent instruction or student services by approval only. Campuses will not be open to walk-in students or visitors.
Massage Therapy Continuing Education
- Proof of age as 18 years or older
- Proof of a high school diploma (copy of diploma), GED (copy of diploma), or college transcript (official or unofficial)
- Proof of a current negative TB test (within six months)
- Proof of Hepatitis B immunization
- Attend a pre-enrollment interview
Note: Students must submit proof of prerequisites prior to registration. Email Nikki Barth to learn more.
A black uniform is required and black non-skid, rubber sole shoes.
Upon successful completion of the course, Durham Tech students are eligible to take the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Exam and apply for Licensure in North Carolina.
Candidates must pass both a content examination and a jurisprudence examination. Examination instructions state that in-state graduates must take the Massage Board Licensing Examination (MBLEx).
The MBLEx is administered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB). It is a multiple-choice examination, delivered via computer. Candidates can register online or submit their materials by mail. They should be prepared to remit a $195 fee. Approved candidates can schedule testing sessions through Pearson VUE; examinations are offered at testing sites around the nation.
The Durham Tech examination pass rate was 100 percent for April 20 - September 2, 2019!
Email Nikki Barth to be added to the email list for information sessions and new class dates.
This is a two-part course with two payment options:
- Full payment of $1,501.50 at the time of registration or
- First payment of $1,127.25 due at the time of registration and the second payment of $374.25 is due at registration for part II at semester break.
This course qualifies for financial assistance.
North Carolina massage and bodywork licensure are governed by statutes, rules, and guidelines. View more information at the North Carolina Board of Massage & Bodywork Therapy web site. Individuals can verify information by contacting the Board.
The North Carolina Chapter of the American Massage Therapy Association is the state’s professional organization.